2021-2022 Junior League of Greater Lakeland Annual Meeting

The Junior League of Greater Lakeland held its annual Spring Banquet at the Lakeland Club on Tuesday, May 10, 2022. Over 100 provisional, active and sustaining members were in attendance for the event celebrating all the Junior League of Greater Lakeland accomplished this year.

Junior League Board

President Lauren Albaum

Highlights included:

The Junior League of Greater Lakeland thanks outgoing President, Lauren Albaum, for her leadership and commitment to improving our community for the 2021-22 League year.

Communications Vice President Katherine Fitzwater announced the third recipient of the Sarah D. McKay Award, Cecelia Wilhite.

Junior League Sarah McKay Award

Sustaining Vice President Alice O’Reilly announced the naming of the Sustainer of the Year Award in honor of the late Carol Jenkins Barnett.

After a year of leadership development and community service opportunities, 40 women graduated from Provisional to Active membership.

Maggie Briggs was installed as the Junior League of Greater Lakeland’s President for 2022-2023. Outgoing President, Albaum, welcomed Briggs to the role in front of the audience including more than a dozen past presidents of the organization.

More than 60 members received certificates for completing our first Leadership Development Series.

We celebrated raising more than $254,000.00 for the League through our Fundraising Initiatives this year.

The 2022-2023 Board of Directors of the Junior League of Greater Lakeland was installed.

  • Maggie Briggs, President
  • Barb Cadiz, President-Elect
  • Peggy McKeel, Sustaining Vice President
  • Sara Scoynes, Corresponding Secretary
  • Nicole Bradham, Communications Vice President
  • Heather Jones, Finance Vice President
  • Sheena McKenzie, Community Vice Presdient
  • Tracy DiCesare, Membership Vice President
  • Melania Chromy, Funding Director
  • Sadie Molinet, Treasurer

JLGL 2022 Award Winners

We also recognized several members for their service and dedication to the League, including:

Sarah D. McKay Award: Cecelia Wilhite

Carol Jenkins Barnett Sustainer of the Year: Lu Fitzwater

Provisional of the Year: Shoma Shelly

Heart of the League: Jessica Brown

Spirit of the League: Kate Wallace

Volunteer of the Year: Callie Miller

Bridge to the Community: Jayde Coleman